Keywords Reflection

One of the first things I think about when I start a piece of writing is the audience I’m writing for. Obviously, if I’m writing something for my eyes only I can be completely open and honest, whereas if I’m writing a speech to be read in front of 500 people, I might be less personal and more closed off. Writing to myself or for a small audience I can write about whatever is in my mind, but topic is important when writing something to be read by the masses. Context is also key, and very related to audience. Thesis is what drives your entire message, a paper without a thesis is like a human without a brain. Otherwise, your thoughts just run on in any direction without meaning or purpose. I also use reflection a lot. Both of my parents have been really important in my writing for my entire life. I use them as my first draft editors because they are the two people in the world that know me the best.

Something I’m not as good at incorporating in my writing is evidence. I’ve been told by a few previous english teachers that when I input quotes and paraphrase sources it sounds “clunky” or “awkward.” I want to build on that skill in this course because evidence is a key part of so many different kinds of writing, especially the pieces I’ll have to write ate the collegiate level. I also need to work on the structure of my writing. Often I will outline my ideas, but when I start writing I drift from my original layout and end up on a completely different topic. I need to work harder on focusing on one idea and sticking with it in order for my essays to make more sense thematically and come off as more thought-out overall.

Leave a comment